Daily Prompt: Elevator – Intriguing Stranger

Just as the doors started to close, he walked in, his hair seemed to have a massive mind of it’s own, he looked something like an absent-minded professor who shopped in the wardrobe department of the BBC, his bow tie was the first thing I noticed.   He stood a couple of inches taller then me and his eyes seemed to sparkle mischievously, he smiled a hello and hit the button for the thirteenth floor.  I breathed a sigh of relief that I was only going to the sixth floor, even stopping on the thirteenth floor seemed to be like walking under a ladder, all day bad luck.  I am a rational person, but you shouldn’t tempt fate if you don’t have to.

 

The elevator started its slow descent up the pre-war building.  It seemed to protest the weight of its passengers with a slow groan.  Just as the light blinked indicating the passing of the fourth floor, the brakes seemed to be applied, and the elevator jerked to an abrupt halt.   I looked at my fellow passenger with questioning eyes, he seemed to pull some kind of instrument out of his pocket, an electronic screw driver.  My eyes seemed to strain to see, it couldn’t be a sonic screw driver, could it?  Was I still asleep and not on my way to work?  I closed my eyes and breathed, I reached up behind my arm, in the soft part of the flesh and pinched as hard as I could, the pain felt real, I heard the familiar sound of a SONIC SCREW DRIVER, I looked at the stranger, sure he looked like the man that had lived on my tv for the last three seasons of the Doctor, but he wasn’t real right?!  RIGHT?!!!

Leave a Reply

